Wrap Star day 5: WWFYOAD?

WWFYOAD? Stands for “what would fifteen year old Amber do?” and the answer is buy magazines and cut them up. And probably listen to ska/pop-punk and make mix tapes. But it is the weekend and we can only do so much. Let’s cut up magazines!

2f1e029447b911e287a122000a9f13ec_7

Materials used: magazine, scissors, glue stick, two brown paper bags

I ended up using the Vanity Fair comedy issue, which resulted in having John Candy, the Blues Brothers, Paul Rudd, Jeremy from BBC’s Top Gear, Rick Moranis in Strange Brew, Steve Martin, Kristen Wiig, and Amy Poehler, among others. I simply cut out my friend’s names and gave each a background to anchor the letters. I assumed the black would provide more contrast, but I enjoy the orange quite a bit.

I’ve seen this done on gift wrapped boxes, but not on bags. The reason I chose this is because many vendors give you these bags when purchasing at shows and it is a great way to re-purpose them!  I also tend to get Kelly and Heather many tiny items from vendors, so this is a great way to keep them all in one place. Kelly’s actually has a wrapped gift from Yellow Door, so her bag is the turducken of gift bags. 🙂

As seen above and below, instead of tissue paper sticking out I crumbled pages from magazines. Looks pretty…. pretty…. pretty good.

0b6bcfc047b911e2a2ce22000a1fa411_7

I like how they turned out. I also found a Downton Abbey picture for one of my mother-in-law’s gifts. She LOVES her some Downton!

Hugs,

handleber_etsyIcon2

2 thoughts on “Wrap Star day 5: WWFYOAD?

  1. This is hilarious. I’m actually kind of disappointed I’m done with my wrapping because I didn’t get a chance ot do this.

    • Thanks! It totally took me back to high school and didn’t require buying anything. Keep the idea in mind for the next b-day gift you have to buy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

