This peppermint has more bite than bark….

Wow. Peppermint Bark.

Let’s be clear about one thing straight away: baking is serious biz. First off, there’s measurement. You can kind of mix it up when making savory items: add saracha, add some bacon, whatevs. The savory culinary gods say “bring it.” Baking is not as forgiving. The baking gods don’t like people who think outside of the box or make silly substitutions.

I made a substitution.

When looking up peppermint bark recipes, several offered the idea of adding peppermint extract to the chocolate to give it more minty flare. I didn’t have any of that. However, I DID have peppermint syrup for coffee. I added it to the melted chocolate. It turned into a solid. I felt like Bill Nye! That ended up in the trash.

I did end up making a new batch of peppermint bark without the syrup. Naturally, I decided substitute the traditional candy cane bits with Andes Peppermint Baking Chips. The recipe is fairly easy:

Supplies: milk or dark choclate, white chocolate, Andes Peppermint Chips (or crushed up candy canes), and NO PEPPERMINT SYRUP!!!! This picture was taken when I had high hopes about my cool twist, which ended up being a cruel twist.

a37ef43243fd11e2901122000a9f1939_7

Step 1: melt dark/milk chocolate. Pour this in molds or in a baking dish lined with parchment paper. Put in freezer for a while.

Step 2: melt white chocolate. DON’T MIX ANYTHING IN, REBEL! Pour this over hardened milk/dark chocolate (in a mold or baking dish lined with parchment paper). Sprinkle with peppermint chips. Put in freezer for a while.

Step 3: If you made a solid block, you’re going to have to break it. This wasn’t that fun. I am definitely only doing molds in the future. If you made them in a mold, pop those puppies out! Silicon bendy molds are the best.

Solid Block Party

b9bf2c2643fd11e2ab5722000a1f9684_7

Molds are Magnificent! 

3826ecac440d11e2a1bd22000a9f1361_7

Step 4: Decorate in a fancy way. I was going to wrap them with twine and buttons. Those were in the car and it is COLD. So I made a substitution  That’s how I roll. 🙂 I used metallic washi tape and pine cone sticker decorations. The stickers looked like this in packaging:

f5606b92440b11e2a58222000a1fb810_7

I don’t think baking, or in this case melting, is my jam. I am a jazz musician when it comes to cooking. This recipe is too strict and wouldn’t let me express my true “I don’t have these ingredients, so I gotta make it work” side. I did like wrapping them, though.

Conclusion: I will only make you peppermint bark if we’re married, you gave birth to me, or did something else earth shattering. Otherwise? I am buying Ghiridelli and breaking it up and wrapping it all cute. That’s just how I do.

Would you like to wrap your presents all cute, but aren’t sure how to combine the elements together for maximum cute? Stay tuned. Tomorrow I’m using a wrapping kit from a local artist and I’ll even include the link so you can get your own!

Hugs,

me

Leave a Reply

