November Tutorial: Fabric “Poof” Ornaments

Greetings, all!

Thanksgiving is coming up. I’ve never actually made a Thanksgiving dinner. When I was younger we would go see Barry Sanders play at the Silverdome, followed by a dinner in a restaurant. It wasn’t until I was in my late teens or early twenties that I remember having Thanksgiving meals at a family member’s home. Now that I do, I arrive empty handed. My aunt makes dinner. My mom makes dessert. I have nothing to contribute to the menu.

Then I started thinking… why not bring a handmade treasure for everyone? It makes perfect sense to surprise loved ones with a handmade treasure on Thanksgiving. Why? First, the recipient will be able to deck their halls with their new handmade treasure this year. Second, people love handmade gifts. Third, this one is really easy to do with minimal supplies. Other than a necklace or two, I don’t do much with fabrics. This seems like a fun way for me to dabble, while spreading holiday cheer! Who wants in? You? Keep reading. 🙂

What you need: fabric, glue gun, yarn or twine, felt, scissors… Each ornament will need about 10 circles of fabric (mine were approximately 2.5 inches in diameter) , a piece of yarn or twine (approximately 8 inches), and a small felt circle (approximately 1 inch in diameter).

A few notes about the supplies: The felt circle can be made from any scraps you have lying around because it will be hidden at the end. The fabric choices are endless. You could use an old plaid shirt, pillow case, or any other thinner fabric you choose. They also have a wealth of choices in stores and most are on sale. This was fabric from local fabric store that happened to be 1/2 off.I chose a Christmas-like plaid with some sparkle.  I like to use fabric that is similar on both sides for “poofs.” Why? Because it adds more consistency. I’ve used other fabrics and those are okay, but these look more uniform.  The picture below illustrates the uniformity on both sides of the fabric:

Step 1: Get the supplies ready. As explained above, Each ornament will need about 10 circles of fabric (mine were approximately 2.5 inches in diameter , a piece of yarn or twine (approximately 8 inches), and a small felt circle (approximately 1 inch in diameter). I would plug in your glue gun and get everything cut and ready as it warms up. Use common sense when operating glue guns. Follow the directions on the box. Here’s a few tips if you need them.

Step 2: Take a fabric circle piece and pinch the center so it looks like a little fabric cone (see above). I take about 6-8 circle cones and smoosh them together.

Step 3: Put a substantial amount of hot glue on a tiny felt circle. I push the cluster of circle cones into the glue, then manipulate them to look like a poof. Sometimes I add a few more circle cones. Sometimes I don’t need to add more. Steps 2 and 3 are illustrated in the photo collage below:

Step 4: Let the poof dry. Once the hot glue is cold glue, I always check my work and look for loose pieces. If everything is secure, you can move on to the final step- ornament time!  If you’d rather, you could opt out of the string and add a hair clip or pin.The steps pictured below are for the ornament option.

Step 5: Take the approximately 8 inch piece of yarn or twine. Tie a knot at the end. Put this yarn loop on top of the felt circle.

Step 6: Cover the yarn loop with hot glue. Make sure you use enough to cover the un-coordinated felt circle and secure the yarn. Cover the glue-covered loop and felt with a fabric circle. The one pictured is the same size as I used for the poofs. 🙂

That’s it! I think these are fun to make and fun to give. Some alternate options could be to add a clip and use as a napkin ring or decoration for a present. If you have co-workers who you appreciate, but don’t have a billion dollars to spend in December, this is the perfect craft! Here’s a picture of a completed ornament:

Does a Garfield Christmas sweater need to be worn when completing this craft? No. It can’t hurt, though. Look how well I coordinate with my new present!

Enjoy,

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

